While I can’t yet offer a publication date for A Dream Made Truth, I have something for you to read in the meantime. 

The Last Resort by Douglas Rogers.

It stole the time I reserve for writing,  I couldn’t put it down. I’m not sure if that’s good or bad, but I don’t regret it.

Does sex, drugs, violence, and diamond smuggling get your attention? In The Last Resort, Douglas Rogers tells the amazing story of his parents struggle to survive and operate a popular lodge in Zimbabwe, called Drifters, after violence erupts when President Mugabe starts redistributing white-owned farms to blacks. What’s especially refreshing is Mr. Rogers’ success in telling the story from the viewpoint of both whites and blacks. While the guests stop coming and the economic condition of the country becomes dire, the Rogers’ refuse to leave and, to put it mildly, lower their ethical standards in order to survive.

As I read, I may have been looking for answers on what we could have done differently to hold onto our resort, but at the same time I found solidarity with the Rogers’ on several fronts. Perhaps all resort operators face equipment breakdowns, eccentric guests, and theft, but I had to laugh when I read about Mr. Rog proudly showing off his marijuana crop. We too had a plot onsite, only not planted by Brian or I. And although I have no idea what it’s like to live in daily fear in my own country, there was a time or two that I was very afraid when invaders with unknown intentions arrived at our remote resort.

I bow down to you, Lyn and Ros Rogers. You have my utmost respect.

Visit Drifters. I’m planning on it.

